## **MINUTES OF REGULAR MEETING OF MAY 6, 2020**

The special meeting of the Frelinghuysen Township Committee was held virtual via zoom virtual meeting service, Township Municipal Building, 210 Main Street, Johnsonburg, New Jersey on Wednesday, May 6, 2020 and as called to order at 6:00 p.m. by Mayor, Chris Stracco.

### **SUNSHINE LAW STATEMENT:**

Under the provisions of the Open Public Meetings Act, adequate notice of this meeting was provided by posting notice on the Township bulletin board, township website and by e mailing notice to the New Jersey Herald and The Express-Times.

**STATEMENT FROM THE MAYOR:** While the meeting will be opened to the public as always, we will not allow comments or questions from the public outside that open period. Also, due to concerns over the **COVID-19** virus we are looking to have the most efficient meeting possible and trying to address only those matters which require immediate attention. Thank you for your cooperation.

### **FLAG SALUTE**

#### **ROLL CALL:**

Those present via zoom were: Mayor Chris Stracco, Deputy Mayor Keith Ramos, Committeeman David Boynton, Committeeman Frank Desiderio, Committeeman Todd McPeek, CFO Danette Dyer, and Municipal Clerk Donna Zilberfarb.

#### **RESOLUTIONS:**

Mr. Stracco discussed the need for the special meeting was for extending the tax grace period from May 1st to June 1st. He explained to the members of the committee that this extension does not releave the municipality from paying normal monthly invoices, school taxes or county taxes. He stated that Mayors from other towns have voiced their thoughts to Governor Murphy and that it makes the Governor look good but the community look bad. If the town does extend the grace period and a tax payer doesn't pay on time, they would be liable for interest The Mayor stated that 11 towns have refused to adopt the resolution, 3 did from May 1st. adopt and there were 8 special meetings held. Ms. Dyer explained that Hackettstown, being one of the towns to adopt the resolution, can extend as they have no cash flow issues. Stracco also stated that residents will criticize the town on facebook for whatever the town decides to do. Ms. Dyer also explained that this only benefits people who wait until the due date to pay their taxes. She suggested if someone has a hardship that they should speak directly to the tax collector. Mr. Ramos also stated that the we still need to maintain our obligations. He also asked if anyone has reached out with not being able to pay and that if no one has come forward then it seems to him that the banks would be the only ones benefiting. Mr. Desiderio asked if the banks don't pay ontime do they have to pay interest? stated yes they pay interest. Motion was made by Mr. Desiderio to not adopt resolution 2020-37, seconded by Mr. Boynton.

#2020-37 (NOT adopted) WHEREAS, there is a Public Health Emergency and State of Emergency caused by the COVID-19 pandemic which continues to exist; and, WHEREAS, second quarter property taxes are due on May 1, or within the ten-day grace period as provided by State Statutes, and WHEREAS, since the Covid-19 outbreak has caused economic disruption for many taxpayers throughout the municipality, making it difficult for many residents to timely meet the May 1 due date, NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED on this 6th day of May, 2020 by the Frelinghuysen Township Committee that the Tax Collector is hereby authorized and empowered, pursuant to Executive Order 130 as signed by Governor Philip D. Murphy, to extend the grace period for the second quarter 2020 property taxes to the end of business on June 1, 2020. CERTIFICATION It is hereby certified that this is a true and accurate copy of a resolution adopted by the Frelinghuysen Township Committee via teleconference meeting held on May 6, 2020. Donna Zilberfarb, Municipal Clerk Motion was made to NOT adopt Resolution 2020-37 Roll call vote

	MOTION	SECOND	AYE	NAY	ABSTAIN	ABSENT
Mr. Boynton		X	X			
Mr. Desiderio	X		X			
Mr. McPeek			X			

Mr. Ramos		X		
Mr. Stracco		X		

# **OPEN MEETING TO THE PUBLIC:**

Motion was made by Mr. McPeek, seconded by Mr. Boynton to open meeting to the public limited to 20 minutes with 3 minutes per member of the public. All were in favor. Spoke were:

There was no public

Motion was made by Mr. Ramos, seconded by Mr. Boynton to close to the public. All were in favor.

# **ADJOURNMENT:**

There being no further business, motion was made by Mr. Boynton, seconded by Mr. McPeek to adjourn the meeting at 6:22 p.m. All were in favor.

Respectfully Submitted,

Donna Zilberfarb, RMC